Happily Married!

All that happened seemed like it happened yesterday.

It seemed like I met Daniel yesterday.

It seemed like I made the decision to move to Montreal yesterday.

It seemed like I arrived in Montreal yesterday.

It seemed like Daniel proposed yesterday.

It seemed like we got married yesterday.

It seemed like our honeymoon just ended yesterday.

It seemed like my parents just went back to Singapore yesterday.

When one is busy, one never notices how the time just slips by one’s finger. As I have the time now to ponder and look back at all the events which have happened, I ask myself,’ how long has it been?’

Barely a year, I have accumulated the most intense experience of all time, from being in love to moving country. Now, I am officially a Mrs. with a golden band on my left. The usual question which I have been receiving, ‘How does it feel to be married?’  or’ How’s married life?’

Except for the official title, life pretty much remains the same. Ironically, it went back to the accustomed and comfortable routine with Daniel starting work last Friday. Since Dan and I have been living together before marriage, there are no major surprises in terms of living habits. However, marriage is just the beginning of a life-long commitment. There are still many things we need to learn about each other; to adapt to quirky habits of both; to bring continuous love and joy in this delicately shared bubble.

 

We made our vows during the wedding. We chose to go with the classic ones as it speaks the depth of marriage – I, (Bride/Groom), take you (Groom/Bride), to be my (wife/husband), to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part. ‘

 

 

During the evening, we each also made an appreciation message which I would like to remember ten, twenty or even thirty years down the road.

From Esther to Daniel:

1 year ago, I thought that I would never be able to find a good man.

1 year ago, I did not think that I would get married this year.

1 year ago, I was still hoping and praying that I would meet my soulmate.

Today, count my blessings, I am standing right here with my all time favourite boy.

Thank you for loving me for who I am.

Thank you for being open with your thoughts and feelings.

Thank you for the joy and sadness.

Thank you for the constant reassurance, acknowledgement and appreciation.

Thank you for asking me to walk this journey with you.

 

From Daniel to Esther:

Short is sweet,

Mine’s a treat,

For I finally found,

Something profound,

Danger danger!

Don’t let her go, I thought

Don’t let her go, and her I brought.

Dear, we are what we were not,

And I’m finally what I could not.

I smile, you smile, they smile too,

Cuz you know, I can only look at you,

I love you…

Forever,

Just you

a picture taken by Dan’s friend, Yuji

There are still many photos and videos on the loose and I will have to gather them from family and friends. With a bit more time at hand now, I can catch up on blogging – Bachelorette party, wedding, visit from parents, honeymoon etc.

Signing off with love,

Esther

6 thoughts on “Happily Married!

  1. Congratulations.

    I wish you all the happiness.

    I am happy to find out that you are a blogger too.

    We miss you at salsa classes, I hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

