Golden 26

C’est mon anniversaire~

It is my birthday today. I have to blog! The last one month has been wedding crazy, hence the disappearance from the blogging world. Sometimes I think it is ridiculous to pull the handbrake on all other things in my life but on hindsight, I do think it is worth it because it is my once in the lifetime big day after all, isn’t it?

Despite the disoriented schedule, I am proud to have found time to ‘get a life’. Two weekends ago, Dan and  ImageI went to a rave party called Space Gathering. It was known as a more hippie party where people are considerably more relax in general and less judgmental.  Electronic music was played 24 hours over a course of 4 days and 3 nights. I was surprised where I saw families with young children. I cannot imagine Singaporean families with their little ones camping like this. Dan and I arrived on Friday night. We left Montreal at 3pm but only to arrive at about 9pm. A 3 hour drive turned out 9 hours as we got lost along the way. Once we arrived at this highly hidden place, we pitched our tent and wondered around the premise.  The days were spent at the waterfall, cooling ourselves in the river as the sun was scorching mercilessly. We took everything real slow; time was not a reference. We ate when we were hungry; we headed out to places when we felt like it. At the end of four days, we were tired but light-spirited. The temporary disconnection from the world proves therapeutic.

Image

Last weekend, I threw my own birthday party with close family and friends. Dan’s parents’ kindly allowed us to use their place where we had a BBQ party and stuffed our face with lots of food. Initially I thought it may be awkward because I have not known these people for a long time but to my pleasant surprise, the day turned out lovely and I count my blessings to have met amazing people on in a foreign land.

Image

So how does it feel like to turn 26 on the 26th?

Incroyable. So many things happened in such a short period of time that I wonder to myself at times, ‘is this real?’ To Dan, 26 is the golden age. It is the age where a girl is more matured and ready to handle a serious relationship. I met Dan at 25. That triggered his concern at the start. Fortunately he did not have to suffer a ‘heart attack’. Someone pointed out the auspiciousness of turning 26 on the 26th. It led me to think back about what I asked for when I was younger. I always thought my mum got married at 26 and being my role model, I thought that was a good age hence I decided that I would like to be married at 26 too. It was only recently that I found out 26 was not the correct age. Just a year back, I thought I would be single and left on the shelf. One year later, I find myself embraced in the arms of a loving boy who has opened his heart to me. The randomness of the encounter will always serve as a reminder to how precious this relationship is.

My birthday wish? 

It is has been almost consistent every year but it has changed slightly this year.

Before meeting Dan

  1. To find the special someone to live happily ever after
  2. To be happy
  3. For family and friends to be happy and in good health
  4. For the world to be a better place

Now being with Dan

  1. To have a loving and fulfilling relationship with Dan
  2.  For family and friends to be happy and in good health
  3. For the world to be a better place

It is easy to grow old but it is not easy to grow up. The extra year added to my physical age embraces experiences  which made me wiser. Giving up my comfort zone and moving into an extra-terrestre land has been tougher than what I expected. Knowing is one thing, going through it is another.  A few things I have learned along the way:

Love and Romance

– Acceptance and accommodation. When you love someone, you don’t try to change the person. You learn to understand your partner and together, work towards a path that works for both parties.

– Acknowledgement and appreciation. A simple thank you with a hug or a kiss shows how much that person means to you.

– Apology. The ego is insatiable. Yet if you treasure a relationship, keeping the ego in check makes a longer distance.

– Giving freedom. An important need for guys yet the ladies hardly comprehend. This reminds me of the kite story where the harder you pull, the easier the string snaps.

Self

– Have faith. Everything will work out fine.

– Liberty. It was hard to tear myself away from materialism. Money, career, luxury etc. It makes one envious or jealous but it does not add any value to the soul.

– Open-mindedness. The number one requirement when one moves to a new country. Not everyone thinks and acts like you.

– Sincerity with sensibility. There are people whom you can trust and there are people who are assholes. Treat all people with sincerity but if they hold ill intentions, learn to walk away.

One thing that I still need to deal with – my drama queen side! I get stressed up real easy and then the stress overspills into Daniel space. Hopefully these unneeded hormones will go down after the wedding. This will probably be the last blog until after the wedding.  I am looking forward to share photos of the amazing day with family and friends back home.  Till then, happy summer!

Signing off with love,

Esther

Leave a Reply

