Hey Spring, you are finally here!

When spring comes, it is time for a picnic!

Four months of cold has caused my skin to turn a shade lighter. Whilst many Asian counterparts like being fair in terms of skin tone, I very much prefer some dosage of sunlight to achieve a healthy tan. Last week had been a week of rain. Not my favourite weather as I don’t like collecting rain water on me (but Dan told me, “Tu n’es pas faire un chocolat”). I am glad the weather took a change. After monitoring the weather forecast, Sooa, Rumi and I chose this faithful day to head over to Parc Jeanne-Mance for a picnic. The park is located about 10 to 15 minutes walk from Mont Royal metro station.

Image

At the park, we chose a spot right in the middle of vast greens, under the blanket of blue. We laid our mat and took out our lunches. We had sandwiches, rice, fruit juice, fresh orange and snacks to share. We ate, chatted and at one point, laid down to take a nap. The temperature was at about 12 to 14 degrees but with the sun, it felt like 18 degrees. We still had a layer of jacket on due to the chilly wind which blows by from time to time.

Image

I have heard many people from Montreal tell me, “When spring and summer come, the city comes alive.”

I can finally understand why. We were not alone in the park. We had company. There were other groups of people gathered around to bask in the sunlight. Owners also took the opportunity to bring their dogs for a walk. It has been quite some time since I have appreciated the sun and warmth so much. I guess there must always be a comparison before we know the value of something.

Image

Image

Signing off with love,

Esther

Leave a Reply

